A discussion and announcement platform for music researchers sponsored by the Musicological Society of Australia

Publication Grant—Margarita M. Hanson Fund (France)

1 voice, 0 replies
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
    • #61263

      Frederic Kiernan

      Dear MSA Forum members

      On behalf of the French Society of Musicology I would like to bring to your attention the following announcement:

      Publication Grant—Margarita M. Hanson Fund (France)

      The French Society of Musicology (Sfm) received in 2021 an important bequest from the Cuban-born British musicologist Margarita Menendez Hanson, who died in Paris on February 5, 2020. (See the obituary published in Revue de Musicologie 106, no. 2 [2020]: 453–56).

      Margarita M. Hanson was director of Éditions de l’Oiseau-Lyre between 1971 and 1996, following Louise Hanson Dyer (1884–1962). She edited the collection Polyphonic Music of the Fourteenth Century and was made a Chevalier in the Order of Cultural Merit by Prince Rainier of Monaco in 1986, and an Officier des Arts et Lettres by the French Republic in 1993, after being awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Melbourne in 1992. She bequeathed to the University of Melbourne the important collection of early scores assembled by Louise Dyer in the 1930s, the catalog of which was published in 2006 by Denis Herlin (Catalogue de la collection Hanson-Dyer. University of Melbourne: Lyrebird Press).

      Hanson’s bequest will be used to finance the Margarita M. Hanson Fund (MMHF, France), a fund designed to subsidize the publication of books, in any language, on pre-1750 French music or, more broadly, on pre-1750 French musical culture. This fund may also support the publication of a major edition of pre-1750 French repertoires. Publishers, individual authors, associations, foundations, research teams, or academic institutions wishing to benefit from this aid are asked to send the Sfm a file presenting their publication project before November 1, 2022. The MMHF Selection Committee (see composition below) will meet in early 2023 to determine its choices.

      The MMHF grant application file must include

      – an abstract of approximately 1,000 words describing the project and its contribution to knowledge;

      – the complete manuscript of the proposed work in electronic form;

      – a detailed budget including the amount of the publishing and printing costs, as well as the amount of the reproduction rights;

      – a letter of commitment from the publisher (except in the case of deposit by the latter) accompanied by the projected print run;

      – the amount of the grant requested.

      These documents may be accompanied by any elements deemed useful for the committee’s assessment:

      – any expert’s reports;

      – in case of deposit by a publisher: the impact on the selling price;

      – etc.

      Recipients will undertake to explicitly mention the support of the Margarita M. Hanson Fund (France) in the manner prescribed by Sfm and to provide a copy of the work to Sfm. Composition of the MMHF Selection Committee: President, Treasurer, Sfm Director of Publications ex officio; Davitt Moroney (UC Berkeley), Anne-Zoé Rillon-Marne (Université Catholique de l’Ouest, Angers), Marie-Alexis Colin (Université Libre de Bruxelles).

      For more information see here<http://sfmusicologie.fr/Margarita%20M.%20Hanson%20Fund%20France&gt;.

      Best wishes,


      Frederic Kiernan | Melbourne Postdoctoral Fellow | PhD MMus
      Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, Faculty of Fine Arts and Music, The University of Melbourne
      T: +61 3 9035 4597 | E: kiernanf@unimelb.edu.au<mailto:kiernanf@unimelb.edu.au>
      Secretary, Musicological Society of Australia

      I acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which I work, and pay my respects to the Elders, past and present.

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Only members can participate in this group's discussions.