Advisory Groups

Advisory Groups

Technical Advisory Group

The Technical Advisory Group will represent the interests of participating organizations and end users regarding the Commons’s technical development. The Technical Advisory Group will channel community input on technical development directions and priorities; provide technical guidance, including review of external contributions to the code base; review functional upgrades and development priorities identified by the User Advisory Group; oversee guidelines for the review and testing of any external code contributions; and communicate the development needs of the community to the Commons team.

The members of the Technical Advisory Group for 2022 are:

Jay Cephas, Assistant Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, Princeton University
Grant Eben, Web Developer, Michigan State University
Martin Paul Eve, Professor of Literature, Technology and Publishing, Birkbeck University
Erin Glass, Senior Developer Educator / Digital Humanities practitioner, Digital Ocean
Matthew Gold, Associate Professor of English & Digital Humanities / Advisor to the Provost for Digital Initiatives, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Cole Hudson, Director of Information Systems and Technology, University of Arkansas Libraries
Venetria Patton, Harry E. Preble Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Phillip Payne, Professor & Chair, St. Bonaventure University
Samya Roy, PhD student, IIT Jodhpur
Terence Smyre, Manifold Digital Projects Editor, University of Minnesota Press
Lisa Tagliaferri, Director of Developer Education, Sourcegraph
Amanda Visconti, Scholars’ Lab Managing Director, University of Virginia

User Advisory Group

The User Advisory Group will represent the interests of end users, including the members of participating organizations. The User Advisory Group will channel community input on usability, features and functionality, and investment priorities; gather and prioritize proposed enhancements to the Humanities Commons platform; communicate user needs of the Humanities Commons community to the developer staff and the Technical Advisory Group; advise the Commons Team on the design and provision of user support, including technical support, platform documentation, and training; and provide a community forum for participating organizations.

The members of the User Advisory Group for 2022 are:

Mary Dockray-Miller, Professor, Humanities, Lesley University
Michael Downs, Graduate Student, Michigan State University
Gearóid Ó Faoleán, Ph.D., HSS Publisher, F1000 Research
Natia Putkaradze, Associate Professor, Caucasus University
Erika Rodriguez, Assistant Director of the New Commons Project, University of Maine Farmington
Julie Sullivan, Independent Scholar, Society For the Study of Early China
Dr. Mayank Trivedi, University Librarian & Senate Member, The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda
James M. Van Wyck, Ph.D., Assistant Dean for Professional Development, Office of the Dean of the Graduate School, Princeton University